The European Union (EU) on Monday slapped additional sanctions on Iran, targeting 29 individuals and three organizations over the use of force against those protesting over the death of Mahsa Amini.

The death of the 22-year-old Iranian woman made international headlines in October and triggered social unrest and fierce protests across Iran, killing scores of people.

The EU had already issued sanctions against those believed to be responsible for Amini’s death: Iran’s Morality Police and two of its key figures, Mohammad Rostami and Hajahmad Mirzaei.

On Monday, the EU announced fresh sanctions, which include travel bans and asset freezes on 29 Iranian individuals and three entities.

The list includes the four members of the squad that arbitrarily arrested Amini, the provincial heads of the Iranian Law Enforcement Forces (LEF) and of the Islamic Revolutionary Guards Corps (IRGC), as well as Brigadier General Kiyumars Heidari, the commander of the Iranian Army’s Ground Forces.

The EU has also designated Iranian state television broadcaster Press TV responsible for producing and broadcasting the forced confessions of detainees and listed Vahid Mohammad Naser Majid, head of the Iranian Cyber Police.

The EU also designated Iran’s Minister of Interior Ahmad Vahidi, who is also in charge of the LEF.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here