Bangladesh’s Awami League Set to Form New Cabinet

Following a sweeping victory in the general elections, Bangladesh’s Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s ruling Awami League (AL) party is set to establish its new cabinet on January 11, as confirmed by a senior official from the Cabinet Division speaking to reporters on Tuesday.

The official disclosed that Sheikh Hasina is scheduled to be sworn in as the country’s prime minister for an unprecedented fourth consecutive term this Thursday.

An unnamed official mentioned, “President Mohammed Shahabuddin will preside over the oath-taking ceremony for the prime minister and her cabinet members at 7:00 p.m. local time on January 11.” The ceremony will take place at the historically significant Durbar Hall of the Bangabhaban, Bangladesh’s presidential palace located in the capital city of Dhaka.

Earlier in the day, K.M. Abdus Salam, the senior secretary of the Bangladesh Parliament Secretariat, revealed that newly elected members of the parliament are slated to take their oaths on Wednesday. He mentioned that Bangladesh’s Parliament Speaker, Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, will administer the oath of office to the legislators during the ceremony.

As per a gazette notification issued by the Election Commission on Tuesday afternoon, Sheikh Hasina’s AL party secured 222 seats out of 298 in the parliament. The AL-led alliance achieved an overwhelming victory, obtaining a total of 225 seats.

Leave a Reply