HARARE – Zimbabwe president Emmerson Mnangagwa has appointed five judges of the Constitutional Court, to be sworn in tomorrow, ENN reports.

Prior to this appointment, the five justices were all acting judges of the Constitutional Court. These are:

  1. Justice Paddington Garwe
  2. Anne-Mary Goora
  3. Rita Makarau
  4. Ben Hlatshwayo
  5. Bharat Patel

This development comes at a time Zimbabwe is confronted by a constitutional crisis headlined by legal challenges to the extension of the term of service for the former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court based on a constitutional amendment by President Mnangagwa’s government.